This Week's Program: Monday, October 17, 2016

00:00
 

MARK TILSEN and MELISSA NELSON 

In the first half-hour, Host Tiokasin Ghosthorse talks with Mark Kenneth Tilsen Jr.,who has been at Standing Rock for several weeks. Mark, Oglala Lakota, is an educator and poet from Porcupine, South Dakota. In the second half-hour, Tiokasin talks with Melissa K. Nelson In the second half-hour, Tiokasin talks with Melissa K. Nelson, Ph.D., a Native ecologist, writer, media-maker and indigenous scholar-activist. She is the president/CEO of The Cultural Conservancy, a Native-led indigenous rights organization she had directed since 1993. Melissa is also associate professor of American Indian Studies at San Francisco State University where she teaches courses in Native Science. Melissa's work is dedicated to indigenous rights and revitalization, biocultural heritage protection and environmental justice, intercultural solidarity, and the renewal and celebration of community health and cultural arts. Melissa is Anishinaabe, Cree, Métis, and Norwegian and a member of the Turtle Mountain Band of Chippewa Indians. Melissa will be a featured workshop speaker at the Bioneers 2016 Annual Conference, Oct. 21-23 in San Rafael, CA. www.conference.bioneers.org

Broadcast times in other time zones: 11am-noon Central / 10-11am Mountain / 9-10am Pacific / 6-7am Hawai’i.